Tuesday, 13 June 2017

Dance music chart, May 2017

Some great music in May, but Sasha's set from Coachella, 2017 is amazing! Enjoy :-)

Wednesday, 12 April 2017

Dance music chart, March 2017

Only a little chart for March - I've been busy and haven't had the usual time to listen to great music. But here are three really good tunes to enjoy!

John Digweed, Live In Brooklyn review

Live In Brooklyn, is the first live mix released by John Digweed since last years superb Live In Montreal. Live In Brooklyn is (only!) 5 discs against Montreal's 9, but that's still a 8 hours of good dance music.

It may only be 5 discs this time, but I still need to really get into it, to give the best review I can. So here are my thoughts on the first two discs. Check back for the rest in a day or two.

Previous Live In mixes have begun slowly with either ambient sounds or laid back techno, but disc 1 of Live In Brooklyn carries a deeper bassier sound from Hyenah's The Idea and that continues throughout the first disc, with highlights being Serge Devant's This Moment and Ivo Deutschmann's Transmigration. Disc 1 does get into a good stride and keeps moving nicely. Some cool techno is present as well as a lot of welcome melodies weaving throughout the mix.

At Spadang Towers, we loved the seamless transition (see what I did there?!) of Live In Montreal, where one disc finishes, the next picks up the previous tune. So if you joined all discs together, you do get one big mix. Well the same is true of Live In Brooklyn: disc 2 begins with the last tune of disc 1, Kevin Yost's Dancer Dancer mixing smoothly into Tripmastaz's Blossomz.

Disc 2 retains the pace of disc 1 and gradually builds on it with great tunes such as Stelios Vassiloudis's Blood Orange and DJ Tennis's Divisions. Lopezhouse's Crosses also deserves praise for the amazing siren-like vocals of Angela. It's also a Guy J dub and is very high quality, as you would expect.

As already said, there are some nice (and welcome) melodies in this mix which give the whole listening experience depth.

The strength of this mix, is the quality of the techno and depth of feeling, delivered by some really strong melodies. Discs 3 to 5 are crammed full of both to make Live in Brooklyn another quality addition to the Live In series.